• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 CDNChrome

CDNChrome

Shiner Minnow

• Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 20 August 2014 - 03:27 PM

Hey guys I'm getting more serious into steelhead and salmon fishing on the centrepin and have decided it's time to start tying some of my own flies. Right now i only tie the VERY basic glo-bugs and SJ worms but would like to get more involved with other patterns. Any suggestions on what I should be looking at considering I'm new to this and will be fishing them under a float using a centrepin real, I'm thinking maybe egg sucking leech and wooly buggers as they seem easier for a noobie like myself to start with.

Also any suggestions on material? I have a decent vice, scissors, bobbin etc.. but should I buy a kit with some starter materials or go by things separately? Reason why I'm considering the kit is that I honestly don't know where to start with material selection and most of them come with a book and patterns....maybe I should start with the book.

Thanks,

#2 Brian

Brian

Perch

• Active Members
  • 553 posts

Posted 20 August 2014 - 05:04 PM

Yup you can also do wooly buggers, egg sucking leeches, maribou jigs and streamers just to name a few. They are all easy to tie and they all work.

#3 Swing4Steel

Swing4Steel

Swing and float

• Active Members
  • 1,523 posts

Posted 20 August 2014 - 08:06 PM

Stoneflies. I like Montana stones with a.chartreuse head

#4 Swing4Steel

Swing4Steel

Swing and float

• Active Members
  • 1,523 posts

Posted 20 August 2014 - 08:08 PM

With bows and.salmon your not totally having to match the hatch. They're pretty dumb and will bite it if presented right

#5 azp

azp

Sunfish

• Members
  • 88 posts

Posted 20 August 2014 - 08:17 PM

ok lake run rainbow (steelhead) are totally different ballgame in terms of flies...i suggest you pick up two reading sources: 1. fly tying fundamentals 2. steelhead books, there are tons that mention flies and effects on lake run trout.