• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Alfiegee

Alfiegee

Largemouth Bass

• Active Members
  • 1,637 posts

Posted 19 October 2014 - 05:01 PM

I have no experience with kids truth be told. But I do have a nephew turning 4 next week-end. I plan on cleaning up some old reels and rods to give him and some tackle.
My sis wants me to introduce him to fishing next year. Most likely at Glen Haffey in the Albion Hills as it is near their house. I am very excited to do this. I have never fished the conservation area, I think there is ponds stocked with Rainbows.
Any info?
Also, what would be best for a 5 year old? I imagine a closed face reel?

Alfie. Cheers.

#2 FrequentFlyer

FrequentFlyer

Rainbow Trout

• Active Members
  • 2,640 posts

Posted 19 October 2014 - 05:26 PM

spin cast reels would be best, i have some really good memories of my dad taking us down to the local pond to fish for perch and sunfish at that age. he used to let us use his cardinal 4's, until one got closed in a trunk lid and broke..........

i'll be in the same boat in a few years with my daughter. the most important thing is to catch lots and keep em entertained. but also to teach them at the same time

#3 Alfiegee

Alfiegee

Largemouth Bass

• Active Members
  • 1,637 posts

Posted 19 October 2014 - 05:34 PM

I was thinking spinner. Andrew never stops moving. I want to get him on fish.
To hook him forever so to speak.

Alfie

#4 staffman

staffman

Smallmouth Bass

• Active Members
  • 1,021 posts

Posted 19 October 2014 - 07:58 PM

Take plenty of snacks and choose a spot where he can enjoy other activities if he tires of fishing.

#5 Shawarma

Shawarma

Perch

• Active Members
  • 853 posts

Posted 19 October 2014 - 08:12 PM

You'll have to get him to try the different reels to see what he's comfortable with.