• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Berg

Berg

Crappie

• Active Members
  • 350 posts

Posted 28 April 2015 - 02:46 AM

Hey guys I just joined the forum yesterday --  to become a better fisherman and meet others and talk about fishing.

Can anyone and everyone give me their tips / ideas / suggestions on things to do to become a better fisherman?

I'm new to the sport and I'm trying to improve in all areas: catching fish, techniques, presentations, species knowledge, river knowledge, time and experience on the water, different methods of fishing, constantly reading online articles and books. I'm in it for the long haul now and want to know how to catch more fish, better enjoy the days when I catch nothing, how to make the most of time on the water, and give back to the fishing community as well as the fish and ecosystems themselves.

Thanks !

#2 FrequentFlyer

FrequentFlyer

Rainbow Trout

• Active Members
  • 2,640 posts

Posted 28 April 2015 - 07:28 AM

fishing isn't all about the number of fish you catch, its all about the experiences you create, sharing good times with friends and strangers, sharing stories.  Being alone with your thoughts on some isolated creek chasing brook trout, and witnessing the sights and sounds going on around you. 

Turn off your cell phone, get away from major roads, and just enjoy the outdoors for what it is, its disappearing fast.

Nice avatar btw, thats my hometown

#3 BnK

BnK

Crappie

• Active Members
  • 398 posts

Posted 28 April 2015 - 07:56 AM

Fish more :)

I know it sounds arrogant but thats how I learned and guarantee you how most other people learned. More time you spend on the water you learn new techniques and bring some people who may have fished 50 years ago even. Wisdom is wisdom.

#4 DILLIGAF?!

DILLIGAF?!

Rainbow Trout

• Active Members
  • 2,707 posts

Posted 28 April 2015 - 09:10 AM