• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 TheKraken

TheKraken

Shiner Minnow

• Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 28 August 2016 - 08:02 PM

Hey folks I'm just getting into fishing with plastics such as senkos,finesse worms, craw, flukes etc. Long story short I bought a boat load of them for dirt cheap from an ex-distributor.

What size hooks are best to use with plastics and what's the best location to be using them? Keep in mind that I'm usually limited to shore fishing.

What's the best way to fish them? A slow steady retrieve or jerkbait style?

#2 bharkasaig

bharkasaig

Sunfish

• Members
  • 71 posts

Posted 28 August 2016 - 10:12 PM

I Texas rig them and toss them into weed-beds. The lake I do most of my successful fishing in has a lot of weeds which mat near shore. Being able to toss the bait onto the mat and then drop it off the edge is gold. The weedless setup was nice when I was getting into fishing more since my casts into the neighbour's boat left no evidence.

#3 TheKraken

TheKraken

Shiner Minnow

• Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 29 August 2016 - 05:22 AM

Lmao leave no evidence. Smart man lol now are you just letting it drop of the mat and leaving it there or what? I'm usually Texas rigging them as well but when it comes to the senkos I think the 2/0 hooks are a bit too small maybe.

#4 MuskieBait

MuskieBait

Perch

• Active Members
  • 567 posts

Posted 29 August 2016 - 08:16 AM

You listed a lot of different plastics and each of them can be fished in different ways. Size of hook depends on the presentation and the size of bait. The question is just too general. Maybe you can narrow it down a bit to help us help you.

For example, with the senko alone, you can fish...

Wacky

Texas

Shaky head

Dropshot

Floating wakebait

...etc.