Photo

Can someone tell me what hatch this is and what fly this is?

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 grayer

grayer

Sunfish

• Members
  • 243 posts

Posted 25 April 2017 - 12:02 AM

Hey guys. At one of my local creeks I fish there was a pretty decent hatch going on this evening. I do my best to match whatever is hatching based on hatch charts in my area, but I am not very good at identifying hatches as they happen. One of the mayflies landed on me so I took a picture. I also included a picture of a fly I used early last season that worked pretty well, and when this hatch happened tonight I had fish rising with it. I don't even remember where I got this pattern, but I only have one left. 

Could anyone tell me what this mayfly is, and if you can, identify what fly pattern this is. I want to say its some sort of hendrickson. I also attached a picture of the fish I was targeting in a specific run where I noticed the hatch start!

Cheers, thanks guys!

And yes, I realize the hook is broken on that fly (snagged on a log). Hence, the reason I want to find out what it is lol! 

Attached Images

• 09hXBo_s.jpg
  • 2lR5Nu-U.jpg
  • wR95kQKb.jpg
  • puBgs9K0.jpg

#2 fenwickfisher

fenwickfisher

Sunfish

• Members
  • 191 posts

Posted 25 April 2017 - 08:12 PM

No 100% but im pretty sure its a hendrickson having 3 tails definitely not a bwo or trico

#3 Bowie

Bowie

Sunfish

• Members
  • 102 posts

Posted 26 April 2017 - 09:13 AM

I'm thinking hendrickson as well, nice fish!

#4 Will

Will

Sunfish

• Members
  • 170 posts

Posted 26 April 2017 - 10:45 AM

No 100% but im pretty sure its a hendrickson having 3 tails definitely not a bwo or trico

Yep - the triple tail, massive bug eyes and double wings say Hendrickson.

#5 DILLIGAF?!

DILLIGAF?!

Rainbow Trout

• Active Members
  • 2,707 posts

Posted 26 April 2017 - 11:26 AM

question to all you tiers...what do they use for the tail? deer hair? what about the hackle?