• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 chinook2835

chinook2835

Sunfish

• Members
  • 94 posts

Posted 13 March 2018 - 01:52 AM

So I fished the salmon run this year at erindale park a lot his year,it was largely unsuccessful besides for one fish over like 8 weeks it was brutal. I'd assume steelhead are in there now in good numbers so i want to give it a shot, I was wondering if what I was doing for salmon would work or if I needed to change where I fished,bait presentation,line type ,time of day and if anyone had any tips for a semi beginniner I'm no pro but I think I have the basics

#2 staffman

staffman

Smallmouth Bass

• Active Members
  • 1,021 posts

Posted 13 March 2018 - 09:43 AM

Fish early or late in the day. Use roe bags or worms under a float and you should be able to catch some. If you choose to fish lures, then try skunk kiwkfish or mepps spinners or stick baits.

#3 DILLIGAF?!

DILLIGAF?!

Rainbow Trout

• Active Members
  • 2,707 posts

Posted 13 March 2018 - 11:08 AM

Roe has been very productive for me so far. Stay away from shallow clear water...any part of the river where you can't see bottom will be holding fish...this is the peak of the run afterall. Pay close attention to y our bobber...some hits are very subtle that it would seem like your bait just bumped bottom. Any disturbance, set the hook.

#4 chinook2835

chinook2835

Sunfish

• Members
  • 94 posts

Posted 13 March 2018 - 02:08 PM

Thanks guys, it's gonna be overcast the day I go so I'm assuming it'll still be good seeing I can't go to early or late, im set up right now to freeline and I'll try to find an empty pool

#5 TI Redux

TI Redux

Sunfish

• Members
  • 198 posts

Posted 13 March 2018 - 02:13 PM

Thanks guys, it's gonna be overcast the day I go so I'm assuming it'll still be good seeing I can't go to early or late, im set up right now to freeline and I'll try to find an empty pool

Best to fish pools with fish in em.
Avoid the empty pools.

#6 chinook2835