11 replies to this topic

#1 RickYoung

RickYoung

Earthworm

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 27 July 2010 - 05:27 PM

Hey all,

Im new to fishing and I live right in the heart of Niagara. I would just like some guidance on fishing hot spots within the Niagara region. Th only issue is I don't have a boat, so I of course am stuck to fishing off a dock or bank. Any suggestions would help a great deal. Thanks

-RY

#2 openfire

openfire

Administrator

• Active Members
  • 2,163 posts

Posted 27 July 2010 - 05:55 PM

Hi and Welcome to OFF.

I live in the GTA, so my knowledge of that area is limited, but I can tell you that the Whirlpool is first place I would shore fish in that region -- Depending on the time of year, you can catch pretty much anything from bass to trout to salmon, etc...

Oh, one more thing... I was talking to a local last year in Niagara Falls, and he let me in on a little local "secret spot". I haven't been there yet, so I would have to look at a map to recall where it was, but from my memory, it was a reservoir right in Niagara Falls.

Hopefully some of the members here have a little more info.

Cheers!

#3 RickYoung

RickYoung

Earthworm

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 27 July 2010 - 07:30 PM

Thanks very much for your input and welcoming me to OFF. I will give your suggestion a try.

#4 NiagaraAngler

NiagaraAngler

Earthworm

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 29 July 2010 - 10:51 AM

I live in the niagara region, the lower and upper niagara river is great for shore fishing, same with lake gibson martindale pond, welland river, chippawa creek, and lyons creek. But fishing the lower niagara river can be tricky with the fast moving current and it like change direction a lot, and it's known for taking a lot of tackle, float fishing is your best bet for fishing down there, you wont lose a much tackle. Any body of water holds fish in the niagara region. Just get out and explore.

Here list of popular spots:
Queenston boat lauch
Whirlpool
Niagara Gorge