• Please log in to reply
76 replies to this topic

#1 neverlookback

neverlookback

Shiner Minnow

• Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 27 August 2012 - 08:57 AM

I'm very new to fishing let alone salmon fishing. We went to An "eastern" creek a few weeks ago and were amazed at all the salmon going up stream so we decided to come back (yesterday) and give it another shot. My questions are:

1. Why were all the salmon dead? We saw a bunch and the smell was unbearable? Was it because the water level was low?

2. Was is there only salmon in that river. Like weI didn't even see a single fish of a different species, there aren't even crayfish there.

Btw we went to the conservation area.

Thanks in advance

#2 Majstor

Majstor

VIP Pro Staff

• Active Members
  • 1,165 posts

Posted 27 August 2012 - 10:51 AM

either water to warm, most of them die after being released, or they were slit open for the roe.

#3 Guest_RiverNinja_*

Guest_RiverNinja_*
  • Guests

Posted 27 August 2012 - 11:02 AM

^+1

#4 Hucho Hucho

Hucho Hucho

Crappie

• Active Members
  • 494 posts

Posted 27 August 2012 - 11:59 AM

People do same bull s.... on Port Credit i found one big fish gutted out and one that have fillets cut out and left there. Man i wish i can catch those a.. holes and make them skinny dip into Lake Ontario.

#5 Guest_RiverNinja_*

Guest_RiverNinja_*
  • Guests

Posted 27 August 2012 - 12:02 PM

People do same bull s.... on Port Credit i found one big fish gutted out and one that have fillets cut out and left there. Man i wish i can catch those a.. holes and make them skinny dip into Lake Ontario.

This happens every year... :neutral:

#6 jpct

jpct

Sunfish

• Members
  • 169 posts

Posted 27 August 2012 - 04:34 PM

Whats the difference if he filleted the fish and left the rest of it there, than if he took it home and filleted it and threw the fish in his garden?

Same thing.

You are a bit askew from the point you are trying to make.

#7 piju

piju

Sunfish

• Members
  • 198 posts