27 replies to this topic

#1 Ertzies

Ertzies

Shiner Minnow

• Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 19 September 2012 - 05:35 PM

Hey guys,

Haven't posted anything in the fly section, but I'm still new to the entire fly fishing genre. Going to try out some cray patterns in the grand river (Kitchener) and was wondering if anyone had any advice on action, and/or colour and size selection. I've seen the odd rusty, but for the most part more beige in tone. So i'd assume thats a common forage. . . I have heard that smaller crayfish are more "desirable" (for lack of a better word) as food for Smallies, can any one somewhat verify this? Any thoughts? Thanks a bunch guys, looking forward to any responses!

#2 Guest_Blair_*

Guest_Blair_*
  • Guests

Posted 19 September 2012 - 09:21 PM

I'm not a FLY MAN ... but very Familiar with SMALL MOUTH BASS in the GRAND and it's TRIBS.

CRAYFISH is an absolute KILLER.

The number one source of FOOD for SMALL MOUTH
- Minnows as well.

The SMALL CRAYFISH are the BEST!

They are either a very light RED in COLOUR or a BLUEISH-GREEN.

Good Luck!.

#3 grubman

grubman

Largemouth Bass

• Active Members
  • 1,529 posts

Posted 19 September 2012 - 10:18 PM

I believe Blair has said it all. Try casting the small craw around rocky areas and clear bottoms. This will make it look like it's foraging for food and lost it's cover of the rocks. I have not fished the Grand so not familiar with it. Always try to match the hatch. Your craw fly should resemble the natural ones there, as Blair said. All craws move in a jerk jerk motion as you probably know. I would try to imitate a craw that has just molted if possible, I think they will be lighter or paler then the adults in colour.

Good luck.

#4 Guest_Blair_*

Guest_Blair_*
  • Guests

Posted 19 September 2012 - 11:04 PM

I would try to imitate a craw that has just molted if possible, I think they will be lighter or paler then the adults in colour.

Absolutely!