21 replies to this topic

#1 nima

nima

Shiner Minnow

• Members
  • 33 posts

Posted 28 October 2012 - 09:25 AM

Hi Guy z
i'm new to center pin / float fishing but pro on fly fishing i always want to try center pin so last month i got my self a okuma raw ii reel and 13' Rapala R-type Float/Drift .
for my reel i used fly line gel spun backing and main line i used sunline 12lb Mono filament.
so i heard mono line because they observe water,sunlight which weakens the line so kindly i need your suggestion regarding the main line .
i fish 2 to3 days per week for 4 to 5 hrs ,so far landed 8 rainbow ,4 Chinook
Thank you .

#2 jayjay

jayjay

Earthworm

• Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 28 October 2012 - 01:17 PM

I use 8 lb suffix siege in smoke green and 6 lb drenen leader I love it no break offs

#3 Majstor

Majstor

VIP Pro Staff

• Active Members
  • 1,165 posts

Posted 29 October 2012 - 01:00 PM

suffix smoke is good, one flaw that it has it digs in after every snag or a big fish. Meaning you have to do a free drift just to get the line out. I found raven to be a very good line and u can't beat the price :)

#4 NADO

NADO

Unaccomplished Steelheader

• Moderators
  • 3,064 posts

Posted 29 October 2012 - 01:07 PM

Raven is my go-to now because of the good price and few issues I have had with it. If money is not an issue than I prefer siglon. But with the low low price of the raven im taking off at least 50yds if not more after every outing to get rid of all the twist.

#5 schnip

schnip

Perch

• Active Members
  • 730 posts

Posted 29 October 2012 - 01:20 PM

side cast =line twist
wallis cast= no line twist

#6 riverhugger

riverhugger

Crappie

• Active Members
  • 400 posts

Posted 29 October 2012 - 01:30 PM

side cast =line twist
wallis cast= no line twist

This.

I force myself to wallis cast (see tangle everything) at least a few times each outing until I can get it perfect... then I will no longer have to deal with those crazy twists in the line.

#7 Swing4Steel