• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Swing4Steel

Swing4Steel

Swing and float

• Active Members
  • 1,523 posts

Posted 25 February 2013 - 11:51 PM

This morning i was fishing (with my gear not fly)on a very urban(busy) river and when i went down to the pool i wanted to fish there was a fly dude in it workin down with his indicator rig. no prob. it was a longish pool, and i could have low-holed him like i would have another pinner(if he was anchored lol), but i waited and told him to fish through first when he told me to jump in below. we shot the breeze about flyfishing while he fished, and buddy offered me a fly, which i thanked him for and dropped in my box of hooks. now heres my quandry- should i have offered something back? i know its totally rude to not take the fly offered (not that i would) but im still learning the "ways of the fly" i didnt have my flybox with me, but i could have offered up my fave bead colour i guess. can anyone help me with the general convention of "the fly trade'' ?

And to Steve pleasure to meet a gentleman on that stretch. dont see too many. thanks for the sj and if we meet again ill hook you up with a secret weapon of mine

#2 DitchWizard

DitchWizard

Perch

• Active Members
  • 693 posts

Posted 26 February 2013 - 12:15 AM

very nice to head of a gentleman on the river.

I enjoy a bit of conversation on the river as I'm often by myself for long periods of time and don't mind having a chat but some can be outright rude on the rivers.

I have offered a number of fly fisherman beads without them taking them haha they like to stick with their flies.

On the bead topic I just got a bunch of lip on another board on the bead topic with a bunch of people calling me not just a liner but an outright snagger...

#3 Swing4Steel

Swing4Steel

Swing and float

• Active Members
  • 1,523 posts

Posted 26 February 2013 - 12:39 AM