13 replies to this topic

#1 Gary GnU

Gary GnU

Earthworm

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 04 September 2013 - 11:24 PM

Hello,

I am new to fishing in Ontario - started last year with ice fishing - great hang over - and then tried my luck in Halliburton - 1 small mouth. Now I am searching for SALMON! I grew up on the west coast and trolled for salmon, fished the COHO runs every year as a kid near Capilano River in North Vancouver. Now I am feeling the urge to do it with my daughter and teach her too. We have a had a blast with a few perch and loads of catfish. No luck with Bass as of yet - but I don't have a boat so I am limited and I accept this.

I am in the Bradford area - I would love to catch some salmon. Any suggestions on locations? I have heard near Alliston or a dam? I have tried Port Credit to no avail - although it was one evening and not a soul caught anything off the point nor was I doing anything different from the vets and my tackle was the same.

I love the idea of hitting a river and standing in the water - getting in touch with nature. I last fished in Vancouver and landed two very beautiful Pinks off the shore with my pink 2 oz buzz bomb. I hit up Nanaimo and went out for LingCod - darn these guys big - caught my own bait - Greenling and Flounders using some Octopus. Dropped a few crab traps so all was great - landed a couple dog fish and lost my lines to some monster Lings as they got close to the boat... ehhh ... nest year!

I would very much like to go this week and am willing to collect somebody along the way to join if you need a ride - preferably heading to this dam ... Nicolson?

I have a truck and room for a few to hit the waters. 

Thanks all.

Gary

#2 ChasinTails

ChasinTails

Largemouth Bass

• Active Members
  • 1,886 posts

Posted 05 September 2013 - 07:35 AM

wait till late sept then fish almost any trib, if you see lots of people your in the right place 

#3 CJR

CJR

#RNS

• Active Members
  • 1,566 posts