• Please log in to reply
68 replies to this topic

#1 hamiltonangler94

hamiltonangler94

Smallmouth Fanatic

• Active Members
  • 1,060 posts

Posted 16 October 2013 - 10:42 PM

Hey guys so many of you guys probably know i love to fish for smallmouth in my local rivers, and always targeted them using spinning outfits and tubes mostly. I hear more and more lately about people fly fishing for river smallmouth and i wanna get into the action. To be honest i am a complete noob when it comes to fly fishing, having only cast a fly rod once, so i get the basic idea but that's about it. I have been doing some research lately and articles are saying to look at a 6 weight 9 foot rod, so im considering that. Now i don't wanna be spending loads of money, i just want something that's gonna last and get the job done, and something thatll be easy to get the hang of. As the seasons winding down for smallmouth, i probably won't be getting an outfit until spring, but i wanna get as much information as possible so i make the right purchase. Suggestions appreciated.

#2 w_ boughner

w_ boughner

Perch

• Active Members
  • 647 posts

Posted 16 October 2013 - 11:25 PM

To try it out and see if you even like it I would get a cheep combo for 50$ from Canadian tire ...

If you pick it up and like it then get a quality rod and reel .. There is no point in spending 300 on rod, reel,and line to find out you don't like it and never get your money back out of it and the combo can be a loaner for when your friends want to fly fishing

#3 hamiltonangler94

hamiltonangler94

Smallmouth Fanatic

• Active Members
  • 1,060 posts

Posted 16 October 2013 - 11:31 PM

Ya thanks for the tip i was considering doing that,i know pfleuger has a couple cheap 40 dollar starter kits

#4 LordMykiss

LordMykiss

Perch

• Active Members
  • 851 posts

Posted 16 October 2013 - 11:39 PM

sail has some good kits, sometimes on sale, so you can get a decent kit for 100 bucks.

#5 RobH

RobH

Sunfish

• Members