• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 TheSkyIsBlue

TheSkyIsBlue

Shiner Minnow

• Members
  • 42 posts

Posted 26 March 2014 - 09:40 PM

Hey everybody, I'm a newbie and this is my second fishing season. I had a nice friend get me geared up for the the season with some grubs, jigs, plastics, and a slipfloat. He also told me that I have a good chance at getting some good crappie at grenadier in the evening now. Anybody know if the major ice has cleated off of the pond? Any help is appreciated.

#2 w_ boughner

w_ boughner

Perch

• Active Members
  • 647 posts

Posted 26 March 2014 - 10:47 PM

You won't have open water for a while .. If your lucky 3-4 weeks

#3 BowSlayer

BowSlayer

Perch

• Active Members
  • 895 posts

Posted 26 March 2014 - 11:42 PM

you'd be surprised at what a week of +temps could do! If the weather is gonna be as warm as its supposed to, i say 2-3 weeks and the ice will be off the pond fully, maybe even less.

#4 usernamehere

usernamehere

Crappie

• Active Members
  • 488 posts

Posted 26 March 2014 - 11:49 PM

after that mass fishkill last summer, the chances of you getting anything out of that pond is slim. Not to mention taking fish is just going to make it even more impossible for the fish population to recover.

#5 BowSlayer

BowSlayer

Perch

• Active Members
  • 895 posts

Posted 27 March 2014 - 12:00 AM

i agree with the above poster, i would never head to that are for crappies, lots of channels that flow into simcoe that hold huge crappies in very large numbers, not to mention from shore, "hint hint" ;)

#6 TheSkyIsBlue

TheSkyIsBlue

Shiner Minnow

• Members
  • 42 posts

Posted 27 March 2014 - 07:16 AM

If I landed any decent sized fish here, do think it would be sae to take it to dinner?

#7 MadocFlyGuy

MadocFlyGuy

Perch

• Moderators
  • 753 posts

Posted 27 March 2014 - 08:12 AM

If I landed any decent sized fish here, do think it would be sae to take it to dinner?