16 replies to this topic

#1 anwar_it

anwar_it

Earthworm

• Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 29 March 2014 - 06:24 PM

Hello All.,

I finally find some people to talk to about fishing.
I have been looking for info on the internet for days now but must of the findings are year or 2 old.

Alright, Im new to fishing. Alwayes wanted to fish but had no chance. Finally bought a Shimano Spinning Combo from CT yasterday.

I live in GTA and dont mind to travel 30/45 min. I need help with finding a good spot to fish that has a good chances of getting something out of the water first day. Doesnt matter what type of fish or what size. Just want something to start  with and don't wanna be disapointed at first day.

Also if you have a suggestion for a place\type of fish. what the the best type of bait to use.

Thank you all in andvance.

#2 troutddicted

troutddicted

Bouts with trouts

• Moderators
  • 2,560 posts

Posted 29 March 2014 - 06:45 PM

Welcome - I'm sure members will reach out and help you - that is the beauty of this forum.  My suggestion to you is figure out what you want to target and take it from there.  Almost every species of fish can be caught within 45 minutes of Toronto.  Take the time and read through the past pages of the forum - there are lots of hidden gems to be found.  There is an overwhelming amount of information out there to take in so doing some research will only benefit you.  You can catch a fish in any marina on Lake Ontario... put on a worm and throw it out there... something will bite eventually.  Soon carp will flood the shallow warm water connected to Lake Ontario for their spawn.  They eat worms and corn and get really, really big.  Familiarize yourself with the regulations and know where you are allowed to fish and what fish you are allowed fishing for - conservation officers hand out hefty fines for violations.