• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Mitch

Mitch

Shiner Minnow

• Members
  • 44 posts

Posted 08 April 2014 - 09:54 PM

Hi I'm new to steel head and salmon fishing and need some advice as to which store bought cure however I am also open to home brews if anyone have any advise please let me know but right now I'm thinking of the pautzke cure but not sure which one

#2 classic drifter

classic drifter

Crappie

• Active Members
  • 460 posts

Posted 08 April 2014 - 10:08 PM

i used the natural one! some people may not share their own personal brew to others, although a little bit of research at google and youtube should yield a few suggestions for you, ill say just try small batches at a time then pick which one works out for you! hope this helps!

#3 FirstDrift

FirstDrift

Sunfish

• Members
  • 56 posts

Posted 08 April 2014 - 10:18 PM

no cure! on loose eggs just water harden them with sea salt and ice cold water, leave for 6 hours, dry very well and then freeze them in a vac bag with only a single layer of eggs.

lasts for a year and they stay as fresh as the day u got them!

#4 PUMP KNOWS

PUMP KNOWS

Rainbow Trout

• Active Members
  • 2,186 posts

Posted 09 April 2014 - 12:42 AM

no cure! on loose eggs just water harden them with sea salt and ice cold water, leave for 6 hours, dry very well and then freeze them in a vac bag with only a single layer of eggs.

lasts for a year and they stay as fresh as the day u got them!

How do you know when they're done right?  Should the eggs be hard to burst?

#5 classic drifter

classic drifter

Crappie

• Active Members
  • 460 posts

Posted 09 April 2014 - 12:55 AM

How do you know when they're done right?  Should the eggs be hard to burst?

that i think should be the final product, but my roe turned out squingy but still a bit tough, just not as " presentable as the store bought ones" but mine gets hit as well so i guess there is still some magic in my roe,

#6 Mitch

Mitch

Shiner Minnow

• Members