44 replies to this topic

#1 dalkeith

dalkeith

Shiner Minnow

• Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 26 July 2014 - 11:07 PM

Hi Fellow fisherman,

Before you judge, I've been fishing for 35 years.  I am an above avergage fisherman, and I've caught trophy sized fish.  I am not interested in bottom eating fish like Carp or invasive species that some people may feel satisified in catching. I don't use roe, corneal or bread. I also realize that hot summer months can be more of a challenge in landing fish.

I've been lucky enough to have been able to fish for 7 straight days.  I've concentrated on two areas.  1)  Asbridges bay (bays A, B, C D).  Tommy Thompson Park (only opened weekends so just one day -  tried the rocks, bridge, marina).  I've tried spoons, crank bait, worms, spinners, rapala, cleo, dynamite (ya I wish).   The first 4 days I went with the "I'm being kept humble" thing,  but that's passed.  I spoke to other fisherman - also nothing (bottom feeders excluded).   I saw maybe 30 shad total?

Point being, these two major Toronto Harbourfront areas are absolutely no good for fishing.  The signs put up by the government saying what you can safely eat, for the most part a sham - most are not there all year round. 

The good news is that I've taught my daugher how to cast.  Unfortunately, these Toronto Harbourfront areas will not be where I will be teaching my daugher how to actually land real fish, in these beautiful summer months.

Just thought I'd provide realistic expecations :)

good luck to all!!

Rob

#2 Default_User

Default_User

Sunfish

• Members
  • 64 posts

Posted 26 July 2014 - 11:10 PM

It wasn't always like that though. Scary.....

#3 tcp

tcp

Sunfish

• Active Members
  • 289 posts

Posted 26 July 2014 - 11:28 PM

Lol. Real fish as opposed to fake fish? Bass fishermen, hah

#4 dalkeith

dalkeith

Shiner Minnow

• Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 26 July 2014 - 11:32 PM