7 replies to this topic

#1 Brown_recluse

Brown_recluse

Shiner Minnow

• Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 19 April 2016 - 08:58 AM

Hey All

I'm fairly new to fly fishing, only starting last Spring, and am just trying to learn from the internet since I don't really have anyone to teach me.  For the record, I believe in respecting the environment and practice catch and release for the most part (unless I'm taking one home to eat!). 

On another thread I saw someone was asking about a few dead fish drifting downstream, and a few people brought up the fact that using a light leader / tippet could cause strain on the fish and cause it's death after it's released due to the stress of the fight.  From what I read, I was under the impression that using a light tippet and leader for trough is more practical because they spook easily.  

I am planning on targeting smaller browns / brookies and rainbows (no steelies) this weekend with a 5wt. 9".  I was going to use 10lb test, .235mm dia. Sunline (just a regular monofilament I use for bass fishing) as my leader and 6x 3.5lb test .13mm tippet.  Since I am going to be targeting resident fish in a West Trib, I figure this would do ..

I'm more concerned about is if that leader/tippet will cause too much strain.  I'm willing to change it but I need to know sooner than later!

Thanks for any advice

#2 Paul1913

Paul1913

Perch

• Active Members
  • 592 posts

Posted 19 April 2016 - 09:23 AM

I'd say that some of the ones you are seeing are definitely being overworked on small tippets and not being revived properly but some also have a vitamin deficiency .

Don't go too small of a tipped like a 2lb. Go 6-10 is usually what I use for steel head.

Proper fish handling after the catch has a lot to play with it too. Hope that helps.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#3 DILLIGAF?!

DILLIGAF?!

Rainbow Trout

• Active Members
  • 2,707 posts

Posted 19 April 2016 - 09:39 AM