12 replies to this topic

#1 Swany93

Swany93

Sunfish

• Members
  • 52 posts

Posted 26 January 2017 - 09:54 PM

Hey Guys,

I had no idea where to put this so, I'm leaving it here. I'm doing a thesis at Niagara college with Trout Unlimited, and we're working to do some rehabilitation on a stream network on Brook Trout Habitat. Right now we're doing thermal analysis from loggers until we do our geomorphic survey in the spring. In the mean we're also trying to get get some under water film of the Brookies. I've seen them, members of TU, and my advisor have all seem them. Like most small stream Trout, these guys are exceptionally spooky. If anyone had some advice on how we could approach filming these guys. We have two GoPros.

Once trout season is open, in a perfect world id just fish for them. That's not really an option as our goal is purely rehabilitation, and there doesn't need to be any more pressure on these guys.

Thanks Everyone!

#2 salmotrutta

salmotrutta

Largemouth Bass

• Active Members
  • 1,747 posts

Posted 27 January 2017 - 02:08 AM

They will be emaciated at this time of year, making for poor pics and clips. 

To get them out of the woodwork, you could bring them food. Worms, insects. But that may be against the regs, so make sure to check. 

#3 Huronfly

Huronfly

Sunfish

• Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 27 January 2017 - 08:44 AM

I'd put the go pro on a long stick and slowly approach them from behind with the go pro in the water... Or you could rig something up so the go pro is stationary in the water and just leave it filming and wait for the trout to return to their lie, then just pull it back out with fishing line or some thing. That will be quite a challenge but sounds pretty neat, good luck.

#4 grayer

grayer

Sunfish

• Members
  • 243 posts

Posted 27 January 2017 - 11:31 AM